Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Knackered!

9 Comments

At 74 I’m clearly not as young as I used to be. A little bit of light exercise I thought.

I had assembled a raised vegetable garden in our back yard so that the wife and I don’t have to get down on our knees to manage the gardening. We bought fourteen bags of garden mix to fill it. These were delivered on Friday and stacked on the parking area in front of our basement-garage for me to transport to the back of our section (NZ term for “lot” or “property”) at my leisure. Additionally there were two fruit trees plus large wooden barrels to contain them to be moved to the rear of the section. Saturday was rain, so today was the day.

Our section is not level and slopes up about 9 metres (29 ft) from front to back. From the road to the front of the house the land rises about 5 metres, but has been partially excavated in front of the house to form a parking area and access to the three garages under the house. On each side of the parking area there is a steep loop-back path that enables access to the main part of the house climbing 3.5 m (11 ft) in 10 m (33 ft) before climbing gently about another 60 cm (2 ft) to the back door, a distance of about 20 m (66 ft). From there you take some steps rising about a metre (3 ft) to a patio area, then after crossing the patio, approximately 4 m (13 ft) you take some more steps to the (mostly) level ground a metre (3 ft) higher, where the raised vegetable garden is situated. In total, that’s a rise of around 6 m (20 ft) over a distance of 40 m (130 ft) from stacked bags to vegetable garden.

Now that I’ve laid out the scene, there’s one more important bit of information you need to know. The bags are 40 litres each and weigh between 25 kg (55 lb) and 30 kg (66 lb) depending on moisture content, so not exactly featherweight. My intention was to carry the fruit tress and barrels then all the bags of garden mix.

The two barrels were heavier than I thought, but I managed to lift both together and carry them to the back, and then the two trees (one in each hand) without raising a sweat. The slightly limp and very heavy bags of garden mix were a different story! I ruptured two discs in my lower back when I was a teenager by lifting a very heavy object incorrectly, learning the hard way not to use my back as a crane. I’ve since learnt to keep my body upright and use my legs to get from a squatting position to a standing position. But pressing an additional 25 – 30 kg above my own weight proved to be stretching the limits of my 74 year old legs. By the time I had carried six bags, my legs felt like jelly and I knew I didn’t have the strength to lift, let alone carry another bag. It’s a cold, windy, un-spring-like October afternoon, but the exercise left me saturated in perspiration. I don’t think I’ve felt so exhausted for more than a decade.

So there’s another eight bags than need to be moved to the back of the section. Any takers? There’s a twelve-pack of beer when its completed.

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and discovered I am autistic at the age of sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

9 thoughts on “Knackered!

  1. I am willing to help. That’s a steep gradient, Barry

  2. Hi Barry. Wow! That is a lot of steps up and around with heavy things to carry. Would a two wheel handcart help? The kind like this https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/880277-REG/MultiCart_MHT_Mini_Hand_Truck.html

    Ron and I have a heavy duty one we use for moving everything from stone blocks to large appliances. I am glad you decided to spread out the work to another day, I would hate for you to be injured. Best wishes. Scottie

    • I do have two handcart like those – one large, one small. But the very steep slope over the first 10 metres makes their use almost impossible, so I’d still need to carry the bags over that distance. Then there’s the two sets of steps to contend with. In fact it’s only on the relatively easy bit between the top of the loop back and the first set of steps where a handcart would be helpful. So if I employed a handcart, I’d need to pick up and set down each bag twice instead of once. It was the picking up that sapped all my energy and also the moment of greatest risk of injury. It took several episodes of immobility and extreme pain before I learnt to respect my back with the care it deserves, and I have no wish to repeat that 😊

  3. I think the air fare would be prohibitive – it cost and arm and a leg when we flew to NZ in the late 90s to visit my partner’s grandmother a bit before her 100th birthday. 🙂

    You definitely want some lifting aids. We’re currently investigating powered wheelbarrows to shift stuff around here. I’m not sure our slope is as bad as yours, but we’re spread over 14 acres and most of it is a hill and as I sneak casually past 60 in the hope it doesn’t notice, there is a definite decline in how much I can lift and how far I can carry it.

    I have sort of agreed with my partner that I’m overdue for a midlife crisis, but rather than a sports car I fancy a second-hand three-quarter tonne excavator.

    • I only have to contend with 886 square metres instead of acres 😊

      I too tried to sneak past 60, but by the time I hit 65 it was reminding me daily that it had indeed noticed 😞

      • My father has recently made helpful remarks along the lines of “It’s your age.”
        (At the age of 85 he complains that the 14 mile round-trip walk to visit his cousin is getting to be hard work, and needs 2 nurofen to dull the pain in the hip that the surgeon thinks needs replacing. 🙂 )

  4. I was glad that the story didn’t end with ruptured discs! Fatigue and perspiration generally yield to quicker recovery.

    • Well in reality I actually started with ruptured discs. A ruptured disc never recovers as recent x-rays reveal. Several spinal bones are rubbing on each other grinding their surfaces away. One (eventually) learns to manage the damage. And I’ve done reasonably well at that over recent decades 😊

Leave a comment