Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Living in sin

Leave a comment

What an outdated concept that is. And yet it still pops up in evangelical and fundamentalist Christian literature. I like this observation made in ministry at a Quaker wedding:

A woman came to me several years ago. She had left her abusive husband, had lived by herself for a number of years, then had met a wonderful man and began dating. After a year, they decided to move in together. She admitted feeling guilty about living together.

“We’re going to get married soon,” she told me. “I don’t like living in sin.”
I asked her why she called it living in sin.

She said she’d been taught that living together outside of marriage was sinful.
I told her I disagreed, that I thought living in sin was when you promised to love, honour, and cherish someone, then didn’t.

I think there’s a lot of married people living in sin.

I agree entirely.

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and discovered I am autistic at the age of sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

Leave a comment