Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Autism quote

3 Comments

Never a more true sentence has been written!

Autism is a disability but only because we are trying to function in a world that is not built for us and refuses to accommodate our different needs.

Autism – Given up but I’m trying – 2022/08/24

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and discovered I am autistic at the age of sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

3 thoughts on “Autism quote

  1. This was a great post and I could relate to pretty much everything she wrote. I do, though, feel like most people with disabilities could make the same statement about accommodations. If the world was (much) more accommodating, many of our disabilities wouldn’t matter so much.

    • I agree that many of our disabilities wouldn’t matter so much if the world made more accommodations for them. Even chronic migraine, which is something I do suffer from, could be made less intolerable if folks were more accommodating, instead of writing it off as “just a bad headache”. The problem seems to be that many folk refuse to make accommodations until they themselves face a disability, at which time they often re-evaluate their position.

Leave a comment