Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Migraines suck

11 Comments

Tonight the wife and I are supposed to be enjoying the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo in Wellington. We bought tickets for the event many months ago and paid an arm and a leg for the perfect seats. We were both keenly looking forward to seeing the spectacle tonight.

Instead I am lying in a darkened room in somewhat of a fogged frame of mind. The mental fog is a direct result of the migraine, and while it dulls my cognitive skills, it also dulls my perception of pain. Something I am grateful for.

We drove from Feilding to Waikanae yesterday to stay with our daughter and family. Waikanae is only an hour from Wellington on the suburban train system and as the stadium where the tattoo is being held is only a few minutes walk from the Wellington railway station, it made more sense to take the train instead of trying to find parking space within walking distance.

Shortly after midday I felt that out of body sensation that often precedes a migraine and by mid afternoon I realised that a migraine was on its way as my vision began to loose its precision.

I took some pain killers and with a sinking feeling retreated to a darkened and quiet spot in the hope that it would all blow over before it was time to leave.

Unfortunately by early evening I could no longer walk without staggering and my ability to comprehend language was on the way out and I realised that I’d  be courting disaster by going out.

So our daughter is accompanying my wife to a fantastic night’s entertainment while I struggle to keep from drifting into unreality.

I recently discovered that at times like this, conversing at the slow pace required by typing with one finger (all I can manage at the moment) I can remain somewhat in the real world one letter at a time. Even though the light from the phone screen is very unpleasant, even at its minimum setting, and I hit the wrong letters more often than the correct ones  (thank goodness for predictive typing), by communicating at a pace I can manage, I am finding that I cease to be enveloped in that fog of nothingness that has so often accompanied the migraines.

Of course there’s the possibility that I’ll ramble somewhat incoherently, but if as I am beginning to suspect, it shortens the duration of the migraine, and/or reduces its severity, then that’s something readers will have to put up with.

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and was diagnosed as being autistic aged sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

11 thoughts on “Migraines suck

  1. I hope the migraine is all but gone

  2. Bummer. My husband and my oldest daughter both suffer from migraines. I’m happy that’s one infliction I don’t have. Hope you’re feeling better now.

  3. I have struggled with migraines for the last 15 years and have finally found that changing my diet has significantly reduced the frequency and severity of them. It has been hard to eliminate so many foods though. So, I am posting my recipes and thoughts with the hope that someone else will benefit. Maybe, it was a food that impacted you. I hope you feel better soon.

    • There is no evidence that foods are a trigger for my migraines although that possibility still exists. I’m pleased that you have found something that can mitigate the frequency/severity of yours.

  4. Am so sorry to read of your pain. I hope you find some relief soon. Glad it sounds like you have a lovely family. Hoping you find the answers you are looking for. All the best Kristie.

  5. We are more than pleased to read whatever you choose to post Barry. I am honored that while you are in such pain that you even think to reach out to your readers. The post made perfect sense and was insightful for me in helping to understand how those suffering migraines feel. Thank you.

    • Thanks Paul. I was beginning to think that you had drifted out of the blogosphere altogether, but I’m pleased to see you return. Your comments and posts are always appreciated.

  6. I’m sorry you missed your treat and that you suffer from migraines. I can’t think of anything worse than drums and bagpipes during a migraine. I used to have them as a child and dimly remember the darkened rooms and the fogginess. I hope you can find something that helps.

    • I’ve had migraines for more than 50 years, and have learnt to accept the situation. Still, it would be wonderful to find a treatment that worked for me.

Leave a Reply

