Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Musical Monday (2024/04/29) – Into the West

Leave a comment

I think I have played only one song previously that was written for the soundtrack of a film – “Find You” from the from the film The Stolen. Today’s song plays over the credits at the end of the final film of the Lord of the Rings trilogy – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

The inspiration to write “Into the West” came from a poignant source. As Howard Shore was trying to write a different closing credits song, the tragic story of Cameron Duncan, a young Māori New Zealand filmmaker who was dying from cancer at 16 years old, moved the team. His imminent passing inspired Shore, Fran Walsh, and Annie Lennox to write “Into the West” as a tribute. The first public performance of the song was at Cameron Duncan’s funeral where it was sung by Annie Lennox.

The Lord of the Rings sound track features Lennox’s voice but the track I’m playing today is from the album Into the West by Julia, released in 2005. The reason I have chosen Julia instead of Annie Lennox is several fold. I fell in love with Julia’s voice the first time I heard it. She has a lovely rich contralto voice but she can also perform beautifully in the mezzo-soprano range. I was gifted the Into the West CD by my daughter, and it is one of the few CDs I still own. I heard Julia’s rendition well before got to see The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and I think that Yulia’s rendition is more soulful – hauntingly beautiful even – in comparison to the soundtrack by Lennox.

Yulia was barely 18 when she recorded the album Into the West. It’s even more remarkable that she had arrived in Aotearoa only two years earlier after she and her mother emigrated from Russia. In those two years she learnt to speak English and completed her high school education. The album achieved four times platinum within weeks of being released and went on to become the number one selling album for 2005. Her second album Montage also became a number one best seller two years later, earning Yulia the status of being the first New Zealand female singer to have back to back number one albums. The two albums demonstrate her linguistic talents with songs in English, Russian, Italian, French, Māori and Spanish.

I don’t particularly care how my family arranges my funeral, and It wouldn’t upset me if a formal send off didn’t occur. After all I’ll be dead, and I’ve never enjoyed crowds anyway. But should they feel the need to celebrate my former life, I would like to think it will be in the manner of Quakers – no formal program, just silence with individuals standing to speak when they feel moved to do so. However, I would like this song played, and the lyrics displayed as my body is taken away for cremation. And on that sombre note, here’s the song. Enjoy!

Into the West – Yulia
Into the West

Lay down
Your sweet and weary head
Night is falling
You have come to journey's end
Sleep now
And dream of the ones who came before
They are calling
From across the distant shore
Why do you weep?
What are these tears upon your face?
Soon you will see
All of your fears will pass away
Safe in my arms
You're only sleeping

What can you see
On the horizon?
Why do the white gulls call?
Across the sea
A pale moon rises
The ships have come to carry you home

And all will turn
To silver glass
A light on the water
All souls pass
Hope fades
Into the world of night
Through shadows falling
Out of memory and time
Don't say we have come now to the end
White shores are calling
You and I will meet again
And you'll be here in my arms
Just sleeping

What can you see
On the horizon?
Why do the white gulls call?
Across the sea
A pale moon rises
The ships have come to carry you home

And all will turn
To silver glass
A light on the water
Grey ships pass
Into the West

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and discovered I am autistic at the age of sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

Leave a comment