Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

I must be bonkers

8 Comments

It’s 1:45 am, and I’m standing on our balcony in my sleepwear thrilling to the torrential rain, thunder and lightning. Yet I feel quite sane!

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and discovered I am autistic at the age of sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

8 thoughts on “I must be bonkers

  1. You are not bonkers, at least not yet

  2. You’re communing with nature. Some people go camping and commune with the boring parts. Others hang out during the light shows.

    • I’ve always thought of communing as being quiet, peaceful and/or relaxing. While I can’t stand loud noises, pyrotechnics or other forms of flashing lights under normal circumstances, but when it comes to electrical storms, I can’t get enough. The windows and my breastbone need to rattle during a clash of thunder, and I long to repeat the experience of feeling the heat wave passing over me and the blinding light that occurred when lightning struck a stepdown transformer some 20 – 25 metres away from me.

  3. Sounds like an enjoyable experience. Just don’t get struck by lightning!

    • The chance of being struck is so remote that it’s not worth worrying about. In Aotearoa New Zealand one person is killed by lightning every 5 to 10 years. I’m more likely to fall of the balcony than to be hit by lightning.

  4. Sounds wonderful.
    When I lived on the prairies a few years ago I loved to go outside during the torrential rain and thunderstorms. However, lightning hit the house right close to me once so I watched from inside after that. The sound of the electricity in the lightening was something I’ll never forget.

Leave a comment