Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Aspie Challenge #3

5 Comments

I’m not being rude

From time to time we all find ourselves in conversations that we find uninteresting. It’s just that I can’t fake being interested as well as you can.

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and was diagnosed as being autistic aged sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

5 thoughts on “Aspie Challenge #3

  1. You can! It just takes practice 🙂 You look in people’s eyes and you just slightly grin. Not too much in case the story is supposed to be sad. Then you copy what they do. That’s what they want. It implies you feel exactly the same thing they feel.

  2. Forehead. Nose. Chin. Or even ear. Or just keep jiggling your head around and occasionally muttering mm hmm. Little head nods mean you’re interested.
    But try not to fidget. Concentrate on squishing your toes if you have to squish something. Nobody looks at toes.

    • Uhm, I don’t want to be rude, but what you are suggesting is known as “passing” – acting in such a way that you pass as being non-autistic. With more than sixty years practice behind me, I’m rather skilled at it, but it takes an enormous amount of concentration to do so. It only takes an hour or so of human interaction – far less if there are distractions such as noise or motion – and I simply don’t have the resources to carry on passing. Suggestions such as yours aren’t helpful.

      What I need to be allowed to do is behave in a manner that is comfortable and not so exhausting for me, and for you to be comfortable with me doing so.

      • Certainly. I know about passing. Delete my previous comments and this one. I clearly misinterpreted your blog.
        Because obviously I have never ever ever been bored when someone has spoken to me and not been able to hide it.

Leave a Reply

