Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Go Helen!

2 Comments

The UN has begun the process of selecting a new Secretary-General. Among the candidates is Helen Clark, a Former Prime Minister of Aotearoa New Zealand. I’m not biased, but of course she’s the best candidate for the post.

During the past week candidates have been given the opportunity to give an “Informal dialogue for the position of the next UN Secretary-General”. By all accounts our Helen gave a good account of herself. If you’d like to watch her presentation I have provided two links below.

Opening remarks only (10 minutes)

Opening remarks and Q&A session (2 hours 15 minutes)

Why did the President General Assembly addressing Helen as Mrs Helen Clark, when, if she’s being addressed formally she prefers Ms Helen Clark? UN Protocol or ignorance?

I’ve been asked before why I show disrespect for some public figures by using their given name only. In case anyone hasn’t seen my explanation, here it is: In typical Kiwi fashion, we refer to public figures we admire or respect by their given name only, and we often address them this way to (depending on the circumstances). Those we dislike are usually given their full name, without title, or if we really dislike them, just their family name.

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and was diagnosed as being autistic aged sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

2 thoughts on “Go Helen!

  1. Intriguing Barry. I watched the intro. I trust Helen did well in the QA. I hope that she gets the job – coming from an egalitarian society like NZ, I think she would make an excellent head of the UN.

    • I confess I haven’t watched the full Q&A session yet, but I intend to do so (probably in 15 to 20 minute bites). In all fairness is should really watch the the presentations of the other candidates, but my prejudice for Helen means I’d interpret their speeches in the most negative manner. Therefore to keep things fair, I’ll not listen to them 😊

Leave a Reply

