Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

Disabled? I Am Legend!

2 Comments

I have never considered being an Aspie and having chronic migraine disabling any more than the need to wear corrective lenses. While I would love to loose the migraines, 55 years of wearing spectacles is no more an inconvenience than wearing clothes. On the other hand, my differences due to Asperger’s Syndrome are intrinsically part of who I am.

I am not disabled, but society often disables me. Unstrange Mind explains it so well:

Unstrange Mind

Sparrow_Legend image description: the movie poster for the film “I Am Legend” with the author in a purple dress superimposed over the protagonist and Fermat the Wonder Cat superimposed over the prodogonist.

“Personally I don’t believe in the word disabled. I feel it has a negative connotation and it’s just not part of my vocabulary. But that’s just me.”

<sarcasm> Yes, I can see your point. Disabled is such a negative word and should not be part of my vocabulary, either. I believe in using only positive words in my self-identity so…..what to call myself now?

Hmm.. Henry? No, that is a very positive word but it’s already taken. Shoe tree? I like that one a lot, but you know, I think we can go just a little bit more positive. Wait, wait, I think I have it.

LEGEND! Now there’s a positive word! I am not “disabled.” I AM LEGEND!

View original post 912 more words

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and was diagnosed as being autistic aged sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

2 thoughts on “Disabled? I Am Legend!

  1. “Diverse”. “Unique”. “Differently gifted”.

    OCD is a coping strategy for some people with autism, because of the stress they suffer because of others’ reactions to their gifts. Negatively-viewed coping strategies are no part of the condition itself.

  2. Hello, Barry. My name’s Jim, and I’m pleased to meet you. I wonder if I too may be mildly autistic: the jokes that fall flat, the misunderstandings, the sense of alienation, and to some degree, aversion and self-imposed social isolation. You may find William Luijpen’s book Existential Phenomenology of interest. It’s possible to harness the power of your special perspective on the world, and that can be empowering.

Leave a Reply

