Another Spectrum

Personal ramblings and rants of a somewhat twisted mind

In the beginning…

4 Comments

After a lot of procrastination I have finally gotten my A into G and joined the blogosphere as a blogger instead of simply being a commenter on the blogs of others. I was hoping that the simple act of setting up a WordPress account would be enough to inspire me to write something deep and profound and possibly witty. Unfortunately all it’s done is given me a case of writer’s block.

What I find interesting is that topics discussed on other blogs are often able to fire my passion to such an extent that I feel compelled to add my two cents worth. Yet here I am staring at an almost blank page and free to comment on practically any topic under the sun and nothing has come to mind. 

Over the last few years I’ve come to realise that I have very poor decision making skills. By this I don’t mean that I make bad decision, as by and large the choices I have made have been good ones. What I mean is I find it difficult to weigh options, particularly if more than two choices are involved and any abstract thinking is involved. Where options are either yes or no, or if I can compare options in a measurable form, in other words, create a formula that will solve the puzzle, I can make choices as well as, or even better than, the average bloke. But where there are too many possibilities to choose from or the possibilities can’t be quantified, I’m left floundering.

When I comment on someone’s blog, the topic has been chosen. If the topic inspires me to comment, all I have to do is to type passionately for a few minutes and then spend five times as long re-editing until I believe the meaning is unambiguous and no more wordy than absolutely necessary.

A blank canvas on the other hand offers too many possibilities. How can one quantify the options when there is an infinite number of topics available? A good question and it’s one I will need to solve if this blog is going to be more than a single post

Author: Barry

A post war baby boomer from Aotearoa New Zealand who has lived with migraines for as long as I can remember and was diagnosed as being autistic aged sixty. I blog because in real life I'm somewhat backwards about coming forward with my opinions.

4 thoughts on “In the beginning…

  1. Maybe you can start by writing about topics in the news that stir your passions, or just about common, everyday occurrences that you observe and find interesting. Tell stories from your past or about paths you’ve taken and what might have been if you would have followed a different path. Or maybe how you broke a routine, did something different from usual, and what it was like. You’ll soon learn that there are lots of thing you will want to say in your posts.

  2. Like I always find, making a start is the difficult part. Once I get some momentum up it’s usually plain sailing. Thanks for the heads up.

  3. Congrats on your new blog Barry! I’m watching interestedly as a new voice is born. Hopefully I’ll be joining you in the blogosphere in the future. Meantime you have a new follower!

  4. Thanks Paul. Don’t take too long to start blogging. I find your comments interesting, even when I don’t agree with them.

Leave a Reply

